Ramin Haerizadeh, Rokni Haerizadeh, Hesam Rahmanian

  • RAMIN HAERIZADEH, ROKNI HAERIZADEH, HESAM RAHMANIAN

Ramin Haerizadeh (born 1975, Tehran), Rokni Haerizadeh (born 1978, Tehran) and Hesam Rahmanian (born 1980, Knoxville, Tennessee) have lived and worked together in Dubai since 2009. They work both independently and together, propagating a form of collaboration that doesn’t suppress individualism. The seeds of their language were sown as early as 1999, back in Iran. Their practice offers up a novel redefinition of the collective, as theirs is constantly growing and contracting to incorporate friends, writers and artists at large. It entails the use of both low and high art references, and they freely embrace “what is considered marginal, wasted and wrong, messed-up, useless and taken for granted”. Their individual practices differ stylistically while political and social commentary become inherently subversive in a common reflection. The exhibitions they conceive are as much insights into their daily practice, which they designate as the ritual of living and working together.

Immersive and multimedia, their installations build upon their perception of life as theatre, while also making visible their process. Generally, their proposals begin with the ‘creatures’ that the three artists become, physically and mentally, and whose very beings are the roles played. Multivalent references from a variety of sources are carefully contrived and filtered, growing in parallel without trying to reconcile them. Placing emphasis on the importance of “reporting on our time”, they wish to bring attention to the urgencies of the present moment while opening up questions over a spectrum of subjects such as views on art and culture, gender fluidity and power mechanisms.

“The conglomeration of things actually asks us to look at what is in front of us,” say the artists, demanding time for contemplation. They seek to encourage the viewer to recognise the reality of interdependency and the value of solidarity with others. Therefore, they create a sense of alienation or estrangement from reality with depersonalised individual subjects (creatures) and inhomogeneous crafted objects. In this way, they aim to exorcise the sentimentalism, resulting in an emotional distance to elicit from the viewer astonishment rather than empathy, and ultimately allowing for critical analysis.

رامين حايرزاده، وروكني حايرزاده، وحسام رحمانيان

  • NA

عاش كل من رامين حايرزاده (ولد عام 1975 في طهران)، وروكني حايرزاده (ولد عام 1978 في طهران)، وحسام رحمانيان (ولد عام 1980 في نوكسفيل بتينيسي)، وعملوا سوياً في دبي منذ عام 2009. ويعملون بشكل فردي وجماعي دون قمع للفردية. وقد زُرعت بذور لغتهم عام 1999 في إيران. وتتمثل ممارستهم في إعادة تعريف العمل الجماعي، حيث ينمو أسلوب ممارستهم باستمرار جاذباً العديد من الأصدقاء والمؤلفين والفنانين بشكل عام. وتنطوي هذه الممارسة على استخدام المراجع الفنية المتدنية والرائعة، كما تتبنى بحرية "كل ما يعتبر هامشياً، ومهدراً، وخاطئاً، وفوضوياً، وعديم الفائدة، ومضمون البقاء". ورغم اختلاف ممارساتهم الفردية من الناحية الأسلوبية، أصبحت التعليقات السياسية والاجتماعية التخريبية بطبيعتها انعكاساً للتفكير المشترك. كما تعكس معارضهم الكثير من الأفكار حول ممارستهم اليومية التي يصممونها بأنفسهم مثل طقوس العيش والعمل سوياً.

ونظراً لتأثرهم بالتجارب الغامرة والوسائط المتعددة، تعتمد أعمالهم التركيبية على تصورهم للحياة كمسرح، مع جعل عمليتهم مرئية أيضاً. وبشكل عام، تبدأ مقترحاتهم بـما أصبحوا عليه من "كائنات"، جسدياً وعقلياً، حيث تلعب هذه الكائنات أدوارهم. كما يستندون إلى مراجع متعددة من مجموعة متنوعة من المصادر بعد تدبرها ودراستها بعناية، حيث تتطور بالتوازي دون محاولة التوفيق بينها. ونظراً لتركيزهم على أهمية فكرة "الحديث عن عصرنا"، يرغب القيّمون الفنيون الثلاثة في لفت الانتباه إلى الاحتياجات الملحة في الوقت الحاضر، بينما يثيرون العديد من التساؤلات حول مجموعة من الموضوعات مثل وجهات النظر حول الفن والثقافة والاعتبارات الجنسانية وآليات السلطة.

كما يذكر هؤلاء الفنانون مطالبين بوقت للتأمل: "تطالبنا مجموعة الأشياء من حولنا أن ننظر إلى ما يوجد أمامنا". فهم يسعون إلى تشجيع المشاهد على إدراك حقيقة الترابط وقيمة التضامن مع الآخرين. لذلك، يخلقون شعوراً بالعزلة أو الانفصال عن الواقع من خلال موضوعات فردية غير شخصية (كائنات) وأشياء مُعدة غير متجانسة. وبهذه الطريقة، يهدف الفنانون الثلاثة إلى طرد العاطفة، مما ينتج عنه مسافة عاطفية تُنتزع من دهشة المشاهد بدلاً من التعاطف، والسماح في نهاية المطاف بالتحليل النقدي.