Ayesha Hadhir

  • NA

Artwork Concept: 

For the last two years, I have been obsessively researching the underwater world and its materialisations, diving at the site of a shipwreck I have visited all my life. Discovering the mysteries of an underwater world is akin to a rediscovery of oil, because it has given me so much to work on and to create from. The vibrant colours of algae growing on the shipwreck in the summer become languid and pale in the winter, enunciating a more subtle beauty. Patterns form, morph and regrow over the course of a week, a month or a year. I observe the transformations and become aware of new pathways for understanding the world around me and within me.

 

I have experimented with mesh dresses by submerging and tethering them to the shipwreck, giving nature the next set of decisions. I have returned at intervals to inspect the growth and decay of the ecosystems that grow on the dresses. Time produces intricate expressions of the algae’s biological community.

 

For this project, I have chosen to continue working with these underwater explorations, this time also retrieving objects and colours from my hidden world, that will be recreated for a theatrical performance. I have written a script that can be performed on the stage of the theatre in Manarat Al Saadiyat and have hired performers to wear my costumes and to perform a hypothetical historical moment revolving around the shipwreck. I rewrite history, by researching documents at the municipality and re-enacting certain moments in a play. I also document another part of the growth process at the shipwreck and expand it by putting multiple objects underwater and filming a performance in action on this shipwreck. 

 

We have taken over the theatre space at Manarat, myself and other two artists, creating a world within a world at the Fair. My contribution has been through creating props and embroidered sculptures that will identify my work in that space. I envisage several performances during Abu Dhabi Art, with props which are brought onto the stage. After each performance the props will return to being silent standalone sculptures in this space. I hope to create an aquarium that will be part of the performance. This aquarium will be large enough to fit a human inside, who will also perform for the audience. 

 

I have worked with others on creating my props. An embroidered dress was created in India,  carpet weavers were commissioned and performers enlisted. I have also sourced antique furniture to be placed around the theater, to create an identifiable seating area linked to my work.  As part of the nature of my work, I like to learn more about the expertise and craftsmanship of other countries; I like to touch upon indigenous crafts. I would like to discover more work by craftswomen in the future, to see how it can be translated and used within my work.  

 

 Biography: 

Ayesha Hadhir, (born 1994, Abu Dhabi, UAE) studied visual art at the College of Arts and Creative Enterprises at Zayed University. Hadhir works predominantly in installations, using textiles to create textured pieces – centralising the materials she uses, namely brightly coloured 701 thread. She experiments with mesh garments to be placed underwater. Her work is inspired by elements and objects that revolve around familial histories and activities, such as diving and fishing. Her latest work involves the documentation of underwater installations that she has created from found objects. In her young career she has exhibited solo with ‘Al Doobah’, curated by Walter Willems, at Alserkal Avenue, Dubai, in 2018. The artist has also participated in group exhibitions including ’Tashweesh’, commissioned by UAE Unlimited at Maraya Arts Centre, Sharjah, 2019; 35th Annual Exhibition, curated by Nasser Abdullah, Emirates Fine Art Society, Sharjah, 2018; ‘Emirati Traditional Games’, curated by Sumayya Al Suwaidi, at Al Qattara Arts Centre, Al Ain, 2017; and ‘Do Art, Do it Now’ commissioned by the Guggenheim Abu Dhabi project, Manarat Al Saadiyat, Abu Dhabi, 2017. Hadhir was selected as one of the Salama bint Hamdan Emerging Artists Fellowship (SEAF) recipients, in collaboration with Rhode Island School of Design, for the ‘Community and Critique: SEAF 2016/17 Cohort 4’ exhibition, and is currently in an art residency with the Cultural Foundation. She works in arts programing at Warehouse421, Abu Dhabi.

عائشة حاضر

  • NA

كلمة الفنانة

قمت على مدى العامين الماضيين بالبحث بشغف في العالم المغمور بمياهه والغوص في موقع حطام سفينة قمت بزيارتها طيلة حياتي. يُعد اكتشاف أسرار العالم تحت الماء بمثابة عملية إعادة اكتشاف النفط؛ لأنها أعطتني الكثير لتحسينه والإبداع فيه. يتزايد نمو الطحالب المليئة بالحيوية على حطام السفينة في فصل الصيف، بينما تصبح شاحبة وضعيفة في فصل الشتاء؛ مما يبرز عمق جمالها. تتشكل الأنماط وتتحول وتنمو على مدار أسبوع أو شهر أو سنة. خلال هذه الفترة، أقوم برصد التحولات التي تحدُث، وأصبحت على دراية بمسارات جديدة لفهم العالم من حولي وبداخلي.

 

قمت بغمر الثياب الشبكية وربطها بحطام السفينة؛ مما أعطى الطبيعة مجموعة من قراراتها التالية. قد أعود على فترات منتظمة لتفقد نمو وتدهور النظم البيئية التي تنمو على الثياب، حيث تنتج تعبيرات معقدة للمجتمع البيولوجي للطحالب بفعل الوقت.

 

من أجل هذا المشروع، فضلت الاستمرار في العمل مع هذه الاستكشافات تحت سطح الماء، وهذه المرة أيضاً قُمت باستعادة الأشياء والألوان من عالمي الخفي، والتي ستتم إعادة صياغتها للعرض المسرحي. لقد كتبت نصاً يمكن عرضه في قاعة منارة السعديات، كما قُمت بتكليف فنانين لارتداء أزيائي وأداء لحظة تاريخية افتراضية تدور حول لحظة غرق السفينة. أعيد كتابة التاريخ من خلال البحث في وثائق البلدية، ثم أقوم بإعادة تمثيل بعض اللحظات المعينة في المسرحية. كما أقوم بتوثيق جزء آخر من عملية النمو التي تمت في حطام السفينة وأعمل على توسيعه من خلال وضع أجسام متعددة تحت الماء وتصوير تمثيل لحظة غرق السفينة.

لقد استحوذنا على القاعة بمنارة السعديات - أنا وفنانون آخرون - لنخلق عالماً آخرَ داخل العالم في معرض فن أبو ظبي. وتظهر إسهاماتي من خلال تصميم أدوات المسرح والمنحوتات المطرزة التي ستكشف عملي في هذا المجال. بعد كل عرض مسرحي، ستعود أدوات المسرح إلى كونها منحوتات مستقلة صامتة. أود أن أقوم بإنشاء حوض أسماك، سيكون جزءاً من العرض المسرحي. سيكون هذا الحوض كبيراً بما يكفي لاستيعاب شخص بداخله ويؤدي دوره أيضاً للجمهور.

 

لقد عملت مع فنانين آخرين لتصميم أدوات المسرح، وتم تصميم فستان مطرز في الهند، ثم كلَّفنا نساجي السجاد، وتمت الاستعانة بالفنانين. استعنت أيضاً بأثاث عتيق الطراز لوضعه حول القاعة من أجل إنشاء منطقة جلوس محددة مرتبطة بعملي. أحب أن أعرف المزيد عن مهارات وحِرف البلدان الأخرى كجزء من طبيعة عملي، كما أحب أن أتطرق إلى الحِرف المحلية؛ لذلك لدي رغبة دائمة في اكتشاف المزيد من الأعمال التي ستقوم بها الحرفيات في المستقبل لمعرفة كيفية تجسيدها واستخدامها في عملي.

 

 

السيرة الذاتية للفنانة

درست عائشة حاضر (مواليد 1994، أبوظبي، الإمارات العربية المتحدة) الفنون البصرية في كلية الفنون والصناعات الإبداعية في جامعة زايد. تعمل عائشة بشكل رئيسي على تصميم الأعمال التركيبية باستخدام المنسوجات لإنشاء قطع نسيجية تركز على المواد التي تستخدمها، أي الخيط ذي الألوان الزاهية رقم 701. كما تعمل عائشة الآن على صناعة شبكة من الملابس ليتم وضعها تحت الماء. تستوحي عائشة أعمالها من العناصر والأشياء التي تدور حول التاريخ والأنشطة العائلية، مثل الغوص وصيد الأسماك. وتدور أحدث أعمالها حول توثيق أعمالها التركيبية تحت الماء والتي أعدتها مستخدمةً الأشياء المكتشفة. وفي بداية مسيرتها الفنية، أقامت معرضاً فردياً مع "الدوبة"، الذي نظمه "والتر ويلمزن" في السركال أفنيو في دبي عام 2018. كما شاركت عائشة في معارض جماعية، بما في ذلك معرض "تشويش" بتكليف من المنصة الفنية الإماراتية "أ.ع.م اللامحدودة" في مركز مرايا للفنون بالشارقة عام 2019، والمعرض السنوي في دورته الخامسة والثلاثين تحت إشراف القيّم الفني ناصر عبد الله في جمعية الإمارات للفنون التشكيلية بالشارقة عام 2018، وكذلك معرض "الألعاب الشعبية الإماراتية" تحت إشراف القيّمة الفنية سمية السويدي في مركز القطارة للفنون بالعين عام 2017، وأخيراً معرض "اصنع الفن، اصنع ذلك الآن" بتكليف من مشروع جوجنهايم أبوظبي في منارة السعديات في أبوظبي عام 2017. كما تم اختيار عائشة كإحدى المستفيدين من منحة سلامة بنت حمدان للفنانين الناشئين، بالتعاون مع كلية "رود آيلاند للتصميم" عن معرض "المجتمع والنقد الفني: منحة سلامة بنت حمدان للفنانين الناشئين 2016/2017 الدفعة 4". وتمضي عائشة الآن إقامتها الفنية مع المجمع الثقافي. كما تعمل في إعداد البرامج الفنية في معرض "ويرهاوس 421" في أبوظبي.