Moataz Nasr

  • Sun Boats, 2018

Moataz Nasr

Sun Boats, 2018

Wooden paddles

10 m (diameter) x 2.75 m

Courtesy of the artist and Galleria Continua, San Gimignano/ Beijing/ Les Moulins/ Habana

 

Location:  Al Jahili Fort 

 

Artwork Concept: 

“From the beginning of time, the idea of migration in this world has been a constant pursuit in life around the world. Human beings are constantly moving; North to South, South to North, up and down and then up again. The purpose of this circle of endless, restless motion has always been the same… seeking sustenance…, seeking survival…, seeking a better life.

Sun Boat is inspired by mankind’s constant state of motion, an infinite circle. It visually depicts the idea that nothing lasts; everything is endlessly changing, always for the purpose of survival.

The concept of migration has existed from the most ancient of times. The Ancient Egyptians emigrated from this life to the eternal one, using Sun Boats with large paddles. In this work, I visualize the essence of this human motion using bread baking peels, which are coincidentally, almost identical to boat paddles. With these peels, I will create a sun disc of 350 paddles tied to each other in a circular shape, illustrating the endless, interconnected movement of human beings on earth seeking a better life.” Moataz Nasr 

 

 Biography: 

Egyptian artist Moataz Nasr explores traditions and new globalism, questioning geopolitical and social development in Africa. For Nasr, the artistic practice is a tool and a language that embraces art, sociology and history in order to encourage dialogue across geographical boundaries. His most recent group shows are The See Is My Land, curated by Francesco Bonomi and Emanuela Mazzonis, MAXXI, Rome, 2013; Metropolis. Afriques Capitales, curated by Simon Njami, La Villette, Paris, 2017; and Senses of Time: Video and Film-based Arts of Africa, LACMA and The Smithsonian National Museum of African Arts, Washington, 2017. His most recent solo show are: Galleria Continua / Beijing, 2012 and Galleria Continua / Les Moulins, 2015. In 2017, he was selected to represent Egypt for the 57th Venice Biennale.

معتز نصر

  • Sun Boats, 2018

معتز نصر

مراكب الشمس، 2018

مجاديف من خشب

10 متر (قطر) × 2.57 متر

بإذن من الفنان و جاليريا كونتينوا، سان جيمينيانوبكينليه مولانهافانا

 

عن العمل الفني: 

تمثل فكرة الهجرة في هذا العالم مسعىً مستمراً للجميع منذ بداية الخليقة. فالبشر يسعون للتنفل باستمرار من الشمال إلى الجنوب ومن الجنوب إلى الشمال هادفين دائماً من وراء هذه الدائرة اللانهائية والمستمرة إلى البحث عن القوت وحياة أفضل.

استوحى معتز نصر هذا العمل من واقع الحركة البشرية المستمرة في هذه الدائرة اللانهائية، حيث يعكس هذا العمل الفكرة المتمثلة في عدم ثبات الأشياء على حالها، فلا شيء يدوم كما هو إلى الأبد، بل يتغير باستمرار ليتمكن من البقاء.

إن مفهوم الهجرة قديم منذ الأزل، وقد هاجر المصريون القدماء من هذه الحياة إلى الحياة الأبدية عبر مراكب الشمس ذات المجاديف الكبيرة. ويحاول الفنان في هذا العمل تصوير أساس هذه الحركة البشرية باستخدام مجارف الخبز التي يُصادف تطابقها مع مجاديف القوارب الحالية.

استطاع الفنان من خلال استخدام هذه المجارف صُنْع قرص الشمس من 350 مجدافاً يتصل كل منها بالآخر في شكل دائري لتوضيح الحركة البشرية اللانهائية المترابطة على الأرض سعياً للاستمتاع بحياة أفضل

معتز نصر

 

 السيرة الذاتية: 

يستكشف الفنان المصري معتز نصر التقاليد والعولمة الحديثة متسائلاً عن فكرة التنمية الجيوسياسية والاجتماعية في إفريقيا. وبالنسبة لمعتز، تمثل الممارسة الفنية كلاً من الأداة واللغة اللتين تحتضنان الفن وعلم الاجتماع والتاريخ من أجل تشجيع الحوار عبر الحدود الجغرافية. شارك معتز في عدة معارض جماعية تشمل "البحر ملاذي" الذي أشرف على تقييمه فنياً فرانسيسكو بونامي وإيمانويلا مازونيس، متحف ماكسي، روما، 2013، و"متروبوليتان العواصم الإفريقية" الذي أشرف على تقييمه فنياً سيمون نجامي، لا فيلت، باريس، 2017، و"حواس الزمن": فنون إفريقية فيلمية مصورة"، متحف الفنون في مقاطعة لوس أنجلوس والمتحف الوطني للفن الإفريقي التابع لمؤسسة سميثسونيان، واشنطن 2017. ومن بين أحدث معارضه الفردية: المعرض الدائم في بكين 2012، وفي مولان بفرنسا، 2015. ووقع الاختيار على الفنان معتز نصر عام 2017 لتمثيل مصر في بينالي البندقية السابع والخمسين.