2019 Art + Technology

  • Art + Technology Workshop at Khalifa University
  • Art + Technology Workshop at Khalifa University
  • Art + Technology Workshop at Khalifa University
  • Art + Technology Workshop at Khalifa University

Workshop Details

At this workshop, students joined artist Rashed Al Shashai in creating a vibrant installation that uses light and mixed media. They discovered how everyday objects that one might view as ordinary can be elements in building exciting artwork.

The third edition of Art + Technology workshops allowed students to create an artwork that was exhibited at Khalifa University. They learned about how contemporary artists use technology as a medium of expression. Students worked in groups to build the different parts of this public installation.

 

Artist Biography 

Saudi artist Rashed Al Shashai uses objects and imagery he finds as signifiers of the everyday, creating a “semantic field” through which philosophical questions, primarily the purpose of human existence and the functions of society, can be explored. Through playful forms that mine the mundane, Al Shashai provokes our examination of the omnipresence of media, a global descent into superficiality and the growing epidemic of apathy that has come to define modern life.

Born in Al Baha, Saudi Arabia, in 1977, Al Shashai holds a Master of Visual Arts degree and is a prominent figure in the contemporary Saudi arts scene. As a conceptual artist and arts educator, Al Shashai has influenced a new generation of Saudi talent while also nurturing local artistic practices as a founding member of the Saudi Arabia Fine Arts society and the Art Education Society. In 2009, he established the Tasami Centre for Visual Arts, an independent space that supports cutting-edge art in the Kingdom, and was the organisation’s director until 2014.

2019 الفن + التكنولوجيا

  • ورشة الفن + التكنلوجيا في جامعة خليفة
  • ورشة الفن + التكنلوجيا في جامعة خليفة
  • ورشة الفن + التكنلوجيا في جامعة خليفة
  • ورشة الفن + التكنلوجيا في جامعة خليفة

تفاصيل ورشة العمل

عمل الطلاب في هذه الورشة مع الفنان راشد الشعشعي في إبداع عمل تركيبي باستخدام الضوء والوسائط المختلطة. واستطاع الطلاب التعرف على كيفية تحول رؤيتنا للأغراض اليومية العادية إلى عناصر خاصة تُستخدم في تركيب عمل فني رائع.

وخلال الدورة الثالثة من ورش عمل "الفن+ التكنولوجيا"، أبدع الطلاب عملاً فنياً تم عرضه في جامعة خليفة. كما تعلموا كيفية استخدام الفنانين المعاصرين للتكنولوجيا كأحد الوسائط الفنية للتعبير عن موضوعات أعمالهم، بجانب عملهم في مجموعات في عمل أجزاء من هذا العمل التركيبي.

 

السيرة الذاتية للفنان

يستخدم الفنان السعودي راشد الشعشعي مواداً مختلفة وصوراً مخصصة ليخدم المعاني المفاهيمية لتعريف الإشارات المتلقاه يومياً، ويبتكر ما يصفه "بالحقل الدلالي" من خلال ما يطرحه من تساؤلات فلسفية، أبرزها الغرض من الوجود الإنساني واستكشاف الوظائف الاجتماعية التي من الممكن اختبارها. ويسعى من خلال أشكاله العابثة المأخوذة من المحيط الدنيوي أن يشجع الروح الناقدة لانتشار وسائل الإعلام الذي أدى إلى الانحدار العالمي باتجاه السطحية، والوباء المتزايد من اللامبالاة الذي سيطر على حياتنا المعاصرة.

يحمل الشعشعي، المولود في مدينة الباحة في المملكة العربية السعودية عام 1977، درجة الماجستير في الفنون البصرية، ويعد من الشخصيات  البارزة في المشهد المعاصر في الفن السعودي. أثّر الشعشعي باعتباره  فناناً مفاهيمياً ومدرساً للفنون على الجيل الجديد من المواهب السعودية. كما ساهم في تطوير الممارسات الفنية المحلية باعتباره عضواً مؤسساً في المجتمع السعودي للفنون التشكيلية وجمعية التربية الفنية. أسس عام 2009 "مركز تسامي للفنون البصرية"، وهو مكان مستقل يقوم على دعم الفنون العصرية في المملكة، وشغل منصب المدير حتى عام 2014.