2019 Artist

  • Life in a Bag, 2018
  • Life in a Bag, 2018
  • Life in a Bag, 2018

About the visual campaign works for 2019

‘Life in a Bag’ is an ongoing project where the artist conducts impromptu luggage scans of handbags and documents their insides with one clean snapshot. The artist is careful not to manipulate the contents of the bag, as if attempting to preserve the integrity of her findings. The negatives of the images are then printed onto sheets of aluminum, once again referencing a security apparatus. The handbag scans become portraits or indicators of the bag owner’s social status, their personality, their tastes, etc… as the viewer looks for clues and indicators as to what sort of person they are looking at.

In the newest addition to this body of work, visitors to Abu Dhabi Art 2018 were randomly selected during the Fair’s opening hours and agreed to have the insides of their handbags captured. The portraits that emerge offer insights into the diverse audiences that attended the fair in 2018. 

 

Artist Statement

“’Life in a Bag’ is a continuous project, in which I document various bags, each of which carries a life. I think of them as portraits; culture, personality, social life, different tastes are all captured in a bag. Working with Abu Dhabi Art 2019 is a great opportunity that allows me to create new photographs which are closely related to art and culture. The new series documents visitors' bags from Abu Dhabi Art 2018, reflecting the diverse cultures and personalities brought together for the event. They all came for art. This in itself added a certain quality to my project. I am very grateful to Abu Dhabi Art for their support and consider it an honour that my artwork will serve as the advertising and artistic visual campaign for the upcoming Abu Dhabi Art 2019.”

 

Artist Biography

Ebtisam Abdulaziz is a multidisciplinary artist and writer. Reflecting on her Bachelor’s degree in science and mathematics, she brings her unique perspective on mathematics and the structures of systems to bear on  issues of identity and culture, through installations, performance pieces and works on paper. Her works are evidence of a fascination with systemic ways to produce emotionally or intellectually meaningful forms of expression. Combining the scientific with the arbitrary, at times juxtaposing the two in order to force the viewer to question their assumptions about rules in the natural and formulaic world, Abdulaziz is methodical in her explorations. Her approach draws on the Gestalt theory and the recognition that understanding something is greater than perceiving the sum of all of its parts. Abdulaziz has exhibited as part of the inaugural UAE and ADACH (Abu Dhabi Authority for Culture and Heritage) Pavilions at the 53rd Venice Biennale, as well as at the seventh and 10th Sharjah Biennial; ‘Languages of the Desert’, the Kunst Museum, Bonn, Germany; ‘Dubai Next’, a collaboration between the Dubai Culture & Arts Authority and Vitra Design Museum, Basel 2008; ‘Arab Express’, a group exhibition at the Mori Art Museum, Tokyo; ‘25 years of Arab Creativity’, ‘he Institut du Monde Arabe, Paris; ‘Inventing The World: The Artist as Citizen’, Benin Bienniale 2012, Kora Centre, Benin. Abdulaziz is a member of the Emirates Fine Art Society and Tashkeel editorial team, was a participant in the 2007 Emirates Foundation Grant Program Art Panel. In 2013 she also participated in ‘The Beginning of Thinking is Geometric’ at Maraya Art Centre, Sharjah and her work has been shown at FotoFest Biennial, Art in Houston, Texas. She also took part in ‘Past Forward, Contemporary Art from the Emirates’ in Washington, DC; Los Angeles; East Lansing, Michigan; Fort Worth and Dallas, Texas; Lexington, Kentucky; and Spokane, Washington. Her work was recently shown at Cara Gallery, New York, and at Rhizome DC, Washington, DC in the United States, as well as at NYUAD and Guggenheim Abu Dhabi project. Abdulaziz was voted one of the 100 Most Powerful Arab Women by Arabian Business in 2013.

الفنان لـ 2019

  • Life in a Bag, 2018
  • Life in a Bag, 2018
  • Life in a Bag, 2018

نبذة عن أعمال الحملة البصرية لعام 2019

 

يعد "حياة في حقيبة" مشروعاً مستمراً يقدم فيه الفنان مجموعة من الحقائب المختلفة ليوثق ما بداخلها من خلال لقطة واحدة واضحة. يحرص الفنان على عدم التغيير في محتويات الحقيبة، ويحاول الحفاظ على سلامة ما بداخلها. تطبع الصور السالبة على رقائق من الألمونيوم، كنوع من أدوات التأمين مرة أخرى. وتشكل عملية البحث في الحقيبة صوراً أو مؤشرات تدل على الحالة الاجتماعية لمالك الحقيبة، وشخصيته وذوقه وما إلى ذلك، حيث يبحث المشاهد من خلالها عن نمط الشخصية الذي ينظر إليه.

وفي النسخة الجديدة لهذه المجموعة، تتم عملية الاختيار العشوائي لزوار فن أبوظبي لعام 2018 خلال ساعات افتتاح المعرض والاتفاق معهم على التقاط صور لما بداخل حقائبهم. تقدم الصور التي تَظهر نظرة متعمقة لجمهورهم المتنوع الذي يحضر دورة المعرض لعام 2018.

 

كلمة الفنانة

"أحرص من خلال المشروع المتواصل "حياة في حقيبة" على توثيق حقائب مختلفة تحمل أسلوب الحياة والثقافة والشخصية والحالة الاجتماعية والأذواق المختلفة في جميع الحقائب. ويُشكل عملي مع معرض "فن أبوظبي ٢٠١٩" فرصة رائعة تمكنني من التقاط صور جديدة وثيقة الصلة بالفن والثقافة. فالمجموعة الجديدة توثق حقائب زوار معرض فن أبوظبي عام ٢٠١٨، والتي تظهر تنوع الثقافات والشخصيات التي جاءت من أجل الفن، فهذا في حد ذاته إضافة نوعية لمشروعي. وأشعر بالامتنان لمعرض فن أبوظبي لدعمه وتكريمه لعملي الفني المقرر تقديمه في الحملة الإعلانية والفنية لمعرض فن أبوظبي لعام 2019".

 

السيرة الذاتيةللفنانة

ابتسام عبد العزيز،

فنانة وكاتبة متعددة المواهب، تتجلى دراستها وحصولها على درجة الماجستير في العلوم والرياضيات من خلال رؤيتها الفريدة للرياضيات وتركيبات الأنظمة والتأثير على قضايا الهوية والثقافة من خلال الأعمال التركيبية وفن الأداء والأعمال الورقية. وتعكس أعمالها إعجابها وتأثرها بالطرق النظامية للخروج بمدلولات تعبير وجدانية أو عقلية ذات أهمية. من خلال الجمع بين الجانب العلمي والكيفي، إلى جانب الازدواجية في بعض الأحيان لإجبار المشاهد على البحث في افتراضات الفنانة حول قواعد العالم الطبيعي والتشكيلي، تتبنى الفنانة الجانب المنهجي في استكشافاتها. كما تعتمد طريقتها على نظرية "الغشتلت" وإدراك فكرة أن مجموع كل الأجزاء أقل من أداء الكل. عرضت الفنانة ابتسام عبد العزيز أعمالها ضمن الأجنحة الافتتاحية لهيئة أبوظبي للثقافة والتراث في بينالي البندقية خلال دورته 53، وبينالي الشارقة السابع والعاشر "لغة الصحراء"، و"متحف الفن" في مدينة بون بألمانيا في مدينة بازل 2008، والمعرض الجماعي "عرب إكسبريس" في متحف موري للفنون في طوكيو، ومعرض "خمس وعشرون عاماً من الإبداع العربي في معهد العالم العربي في باريس، و"دعوة العالم: الفنان كمواطن" في بينالي بنين 2012 بمركز كورا في بنين. كما شاركت الفنانة ابتسام، العضوة في جمعية الإمارات للفنون التشكيلية ومركز تشكيل، في اللجنة الفنية لبرنامج منحة مؤسسة الإمارات. وشاركت عام 2013 في المعرض الفني الهندسي "بداية التفكير" في مركز مرايا للفنون بالشارقة، وعرضت أعمالها في بينالي فوتوفيست الدولي في مدينة هيوستن بولاية تكساس الأمريكية. وشاركت الفنانة أيضاً في المعرض الخاص للفن المعاصر الإماراتي " Past ForwardContemporary Art from the Emirates" في واشنطن العاصمة، ولوس أنجلوس، وإيست لانسنغ في ميتشغان، وفورت وورث ودالاس في تكساس، وليكسينغتون في كنتاكي، وسبوكين في واشنطن. كما عرضت أعمالها مؤخراً في معرض كارا بنيويورك، ومؤسسة Rhizome DC في واشنطن العاصمة بالولايات المتحدة، وجامعة نيويورك أبوظبي، ومشروع جوجنهايم أبوظبي. وقد أدرجت مجلة "أريبيان بزنس" الفنانة ابتسام ضمن أقوى 100 امرأة عربية في عام 2013.