BEYOND: EMERGING ARTISTS IN VENICE


Artists: Maitha Abdalla (Tabari Artspace) | Hashel Al Lamki (Tabari Artspace) | Christopher Joshua Benton




20 April- 22 May 2022
10 AM - 6 PM daily
Palazzo Franchetti in Venice


Abu Dhabi Art will present works from the 2021 edition of the Beyond: Emerging Artists programme at Palazzo Franchetti, Venice, Italy from 20 April to 22 May 2022, to coincide with the Biennale Arte 2022. For its first iteration in Italy, Beyond: Emerging Artists will showcase commissioned artists Christopher Joshua Benton, Maitha Abdalla and Hashel Al Lamki, who were supported by guest curators Sam Bardaouil and Till Fellrath, co-founders of multidisciplinary curatorial platform Art Reoriented.

Christopher Joshua Benton



For his presentation The World Was My Garden, Christopher Joshua Benton worked with the palm tree as a metaphor for migration, labor economies, and the history of slavery in Eastern Arabia. Charting a path from Zanzibar to the Gulf, and finally to the United States, the work takes as a point of departure the coercion of the palm tree and the date as it probes into issues of the archive, lost genealogies, and American identity politics.

Listen to Christopher Joshua Benton Audio Guide

Hashel Al Lamki


In this commissioned multidisciplinary work, Hashel Al Lamki charters various realms from the natural to the built and the imagined in order to foreground the scarcity of the earth's resources and the way that these events impact the human psyche. The artist contends that climate change is pressing mankind to reconsider their existence, imagining alternative realities grounded in nomadism, poetry and the quantum.

Neptune charts the journey of a man who took the decision to unbind himself from worldly duties and confines by adopting a lifestyle grounded in nomadism. Before he imparts upon this new pathway, the central character must decide how to store surplus natural resources that he has recently discovered.

Maitha Abdalla


Maitha Abdalla has produced an immersive body of work across multiple disciplines – video performance, sculpture, works on canvas and photography – in celebration of the strength and power of women, explored through the intertwining story of wild human nature, the archetype of the feminine psyche, and the untamable character of wild animals.

Too Close To The Sun negotiates what the artist perceives as the ‘wild nature’ of women that social forces have often attempted to tame. Abdalla mines the wisdom of the American psychoanalyst, Clarissa Pinkola Estes, who asserts: "Within every woman, there is a wild and natural creature, a powerful force, filled with good instincts, passionate creativity, and ageless knowing. Her name is Wild Woman, but she is an endangered species.”

Listen to Maitha Abdalla Audio Guide

Curators & Artists

Sam Bardaouil & Till Fellrath

Sam Bardaouil & Till Fellrath

2021 Beyond: Emerging Artists Curators

Sam Bardaouil & Till Fellrath

2021 Beyond: Emerging Artists Curators

Maitha Abdalla

Maitha Abdalla

2021 Beyond: Emerging Artists

Maitha Abdalla

2021 Beyond: Emerging Artists

Hashel Al Lamki

Hashel Al Lamki

2021 Beyond: Emerging Artists

Hashel Al Lamki

2021 Beyond: Emerging Artists

Christopher Joshua Benton

Christopher Joshua Benton

2021 Beyond: Emerging Artists

Christopher Joshua Benton

2021 Beyond: Emerging Artists

آفاق: الفنانون الناشئون في بمدينة البندقية



الفنانون: ميثاء عبدالله (طبري آرت سبيس) | هاشل اللمكي (طبري آرت سبيس) | كريستوفر بنتون


20 أبريل - 22 مايو 2022
10 صباحاً إلى 6 مساءً يوميا
قصر كافالي فرانشيتي بمدينة البندقية


ينظم فن أبوظبي معرض "آفاق: الفنانون الناشئون" في قصر كافالي فرانشيتي بمدينة البندقية، خلال الفترة من 20 أبريل ولغاية 22 مايو 2022، بالتزامن مع فعاليات بينالي البندقية 2022.
يسجل فن أبوظبي حضوره لأول مرة في إيطاليا، مجموعة الأعمال التكليفية التي صممها الفنانون الناشئين كريستوفر جوشوا بنتون وميثاء عبدالله وهاشل اللمكي خلال دورة فن أبوظبي 2021 تحت إشراف القيمين الفنيين سام بردويل وتيل فيلراث، المؤسسين الشريكين لمنصة التقييم الفني متعددة التخصصات "آرت ري أوريانتد.

كريستوفر جوشوا بنتون



استخدم كريستوفر جوشوا بنتون في عرضه التوضيحي "العالم كان حديقتي" شجرة النخيل كنايةً عن الهجرة واقتصاديات العمل وتاريخ العبودية في شرق شبه الجزيرة العربية. وعبر رسم مسار من زنجبار إلى الخليج وصولاً إلى الولايات المتحدة، اتخذ الفنان من صلابة جذع النخلة نقطة انطلاق، فيما يعتبر ثمارها بمثابة سبر مشاكل الأرشيف، والأنساب المفقودة، وسياسات الهوية الأمريكية.

هاشل اللمكي



في هذا العمل التكليفي الذي يغطي عدة تخصصات، يرسم هاشل اللمكي عوالم مختلفة تتنوع بين الطبيعية والحضرية والخيالية لتسليط الضوء على ندرة موارد كوكب الأرض وانعكاس ذلك على نفسية الإنسان. فيؤكد الفنان أن تغير المناخ طريقة للضغط على البشرية من أجل إعادة النظر في وجودها، وتصور بدائل أخرى للواقع تقوم على الترحال والشعر والكم.
يصوّر "نبتون" رحلة رجل قرر التحرر من واجباته الدنيوية والتزم بأسلوب حياة أساسه الترحال. لكن قبل الشروع في هذه الرحلة الجديدة، يجب على الشخصية الأساسية أن يقرر كيف يحفظ الموارد الطبيعية الفائضة التي اكتشفها مؤخراً.

ميثاء عبد الله



أنتجت الفنانة ميثاء عبد الله مجموعة غامرة من الأعمال الفنية المميزة عبر تخصصات متعددة تشمل عرض الفيديو الأدائي، والنحت، والأعمال على القماش، والتصوير الفوتوغرافي؛ وذلك احتفاءً بقوة وقدرات المرأة التي تم اكتشافها من خلال القصة المعقدة للطبيعة البشرية الجامحة، النسخة الأصلية من الروح الأنثوية، والسمة غير القابلة للترويض لدى الحيوانات البرية.

ويتناول العمل الفني "قريب جداً من الشمس" ما تعتبره الفنانة ’طبيعة جامحة‘ للمرأة والتي كثيراً ما حاولت النظم الاجتماعية ترويضها. وتستكشف عبد الله حكمة المحللة النفسية الأمريكية، كلاريسا بينكولا إستس، والتي تقول: "داخل كل امرأة يوجد مخلوق بري وطبيعي، قوة جبارة مليئة بالغرائز الطيبة، والإبداع العاطفي، والمعرفة الدائمة. يسمى هذا المخلوق ’امرأة برية‘، لكنها من الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض".

القيّمان الفنيان والفنانون

سام برداويل وتيل فيلراث

سام برداويل وتيل فيلراث

القيّمان الفنيان لبرنامج آفاق: الفنانون الناشئون 1202

سام برداويل وتيل فيلراث

القيّمان الفنيان لبرنامج آفاق: الفنانون الناشئون 1202

ميثاء عبدالله

ميثاء عبدالله

فنانة برنامج آفاق: الفنانون الناشئون 1202

ميثاء عبدالله

فنانة برنامج آفاق: الفنانون الناشئون 1202

هاشل اللمكي

هاشل اللمكي

فنان برنامج آفاق: الفنانون الناشئون 1202

هاشل اللمكي

فنان برنامج آفاق: الفنانون الناشئون 1202

كريستوفر جوشوا بنتون

كريستوفر جوشوا بنتون

فنان برنامج آفاق: الفنانون الناشئون 1202

كريستوفر جوشوا بنتون

فنان برنامج آفاق: الفنانون الناشئون 1202